Tracing Maus Reflection

FIAF Presents: After Charlie: What's Next For Art, Satire And Censorship?

Tracing Maus has been an interesting but insightful project. I have learned so much from completing it. From being able to discretely analyze two specific pages in the comic to using a scanner for the first time, I believe that I am able to use the knowledge that I have gained from this project into all of my other classes as well.

As for the analysis, I was able to scrutinize pages and “see” much more than I had first seen when reading the comic. By specifically looking at two pages and trying to determine their similarities, I was almost able to interpret the comic in a different manner. Similarly to tracing the pages, I had pretty much looked over key details that play a major role in the comic as a whole.

This project has taught me to be more careful when reading comics and any novel in general. We often miss small details scattered throughout a story that could ultimately change the message the author wants us to receive.

 

IMAGE CREDIT:

Art Spiegelman

Leave a comment